Skip to content


Distinguished Citizens Award - 2024 Nomination Form  Past Award Winners
Each year at the Chamber’s Annual Dinner held in September, a special award is presented to one or more members of the business community who have demonstrated outstanding and unselfish service to the community.  As a member of the chamber, you are invited to nominate an individual whom you believe is worthy of this special honor

Small Business Awards  - Past Award Winners 
Each year, ten awards are presented in the following categories to recognize and honor businesses who have demonstrated exemplary "Best Practices": Business of the Year; (1-30 employees) Business of the Year (31+ employees); Business Growth & Expansion Award; Manufacturer of the Year; Entrepreneur of the Year; Minority-Owned Business of the Year; Nonprofit of the Year; Outstanding New Business under 5 years; Retail Business of the Year; and Tourism/Hospitality Business of the Year.

The Governor William A. O’Neill Public Service Award, presented since 2002, is awarded to an individual who has performed outstanding public service for Middlesex County and the State of Connecticut. The award is named after Governor O’Neill, who dedicated himself to public service during his tenure as a State Representative, Lieutenant Governor and Governor. Past Award Winners

William J. Pomfret Veteran Community Service Award is presented annually to a Veteran of the United States Armed Forces who has shown a selfless commitment to community and public service in Middlesex County.  Past Award Winners

William J Pomfret Nomination Form

Chief Michael L. Green Award is presented annually to a member of the police or fire community for his or her outstanding service to the community and to the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce. Past Award Winners

Mary Ellen Klinck Real Estate Industry Leader of the Year Award is be presented annually at our Spring Real Estate Luncheon to an individual who has made outstanding volunteer contributions to our community. The Award is named for Mary Ellen Klinck, former Chair of the Chamber’s Real Estate Council. Mary Ellen is the owner and president of Century 21 Root Agency in East Haddam, which she opened in 1960 and a past recipient of the Lower Board Association Realtor of the Year Award. She is an active member of many organizations in Middlesex County including the Chamber.  Past Award Winners

Robert Briggs Award is given annually to an individual for recognition of contributions made to the community and also to the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce through the annual Golf Tournament. Past Award Winners

Al Santostefano Award is presented annually to a member of the community for their volunteerism and dedication to the Middlesex Chamber of Commerce and City of Middletown. Past Award Winners

AT&T Veteran Support Champion of the Year Award is presented annually in November at our Support the Troops and Honor the Veterans Member Breakfast Meeting. It is presented to a business or organization that supports active duty military personnel, veterans, and their families through employment, philanthropy, spousal support, and other means. Past Award Winners


The following scholarships are given out through the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce each year.

2024 Applications and Information:

 Harry H.S. Phillips, Jr. Scholarship

Lorraine C. McHugh Scholarship

Sample Biography

Scholarship Descriptions


Above you will find a brief outline of the scholarships awarded annually by the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce and the Harry H.S. Phillips, Jr. and the Lorraine C. McHugh Scholarship forms.

Due to the FAFSA delays and issues this year, we will be extending the Chamber scholarships deadline, from April 1 to April 30, 2024 

April 30, 2024 is the deadline for the receipt of the completed applications. This will allow the committee time to review and evaluate the materials submitted by the candidates. The award ceremony will be held at the Chamber Breakfast Meeting on Tuesday, June 18, 2024, located at the Sheraton Hartford South Hotel in Rocky Hill, CT.

Please make sure students include the following documents with the application:
SAT or ACT scores
(2) Letters of recommendation
Student Summary/Biography (sample copy above)

If the scholarship application is not complete with all the above information requested, the application will not be valid. All information being submitted needs to be reviewed by the applicant's guidance office. We will not accept applications printed from previous years.

If you have any questions, please contact Danielle Aletta at the Chamber at 860-347-6924 or