Distinguished Citizens Award
Each year at the Chamber’s Annual Dinner held in June, a special award is presented to one or more members of the business community who have demonstrated outstanding and unselfish service to the community.  As a member of the chamber, you are invited to nominate an individual whom you believe is worthy of this special honor.        

Small Business Awards - Past Award Winners
Each year at the Annual Business to Business Expo, seven awards are presented in the following categories to recognize and honor businesses who have demonstrated exemplary "Best Practices": Business of the Year; (1-30 employees) Business of the Year (31+ employees); Business Growth & Expansion Award; Manufacturer of the Year; Outstanding New Business under 5 years; Retail Business of the Year; and Tourism/Hospitality Business of the Year. 

The Governor William A. O’Neill Public Service Award, presented since 2002, is awarded to an individual who has performed outstanding public service for Middlesex County and the State of Connecticut. The award is named after Governor O’Neill, who dedicated himself to public service during his tenure as a State Representative, Lieutenant Governor and Governor. Past Award Winners

The William J. Pomfret Veteran Community Service Award is presented annually to a Veteran of the United States Armed Forces who has shown a selfless commitment to community and public service in Middlesex County. Past Award Winners

The Michael L. Green Award is presented annually to a member of the police or fire community for his or her outstanding service to the community and to the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce.

The Mary Ellen Klinck Real Estate Agent of the Year Award will be presented annually at our Spring Real Estate Luncheon to an agent who has made outstanding volunteer contributions to our community. The Award is named for Mary Ellen Klinck, former Chair of the Chamber’s Real Estate Council. Mary Ellen is the owner and president of Century 21 Root Agency in East Haddam, which she opened in 1960 and a past recipient of the Lower Board Association Realtor of the Year Award. She is an active member of many organizations in Middlesex County including the Chamber.


The following scholarships are given out through the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce at the Chambers's Annual Dinner each year in June:

Judge Raymond E. Baldwin Scholarship
Harry H.S. Phillips, Jr. Scholarship

Lorraine McHugh Scholarship
Manufacturer Association Employee Scholarship
Manufacturer Association Student Scholarship

Sample Biography

Deadline Information

Upcoming Events